Not Exactly Love at First Sight

I almost keep going, but at nearly the last second, I pull into the Goodwill. It will only take a few minutes to look and then I will be satisfied that I haven’t missed anything special. I walk down the aisle of dresses and down toward the coats. Only one catches my eye, probably because it is red. The two things I’ve been looking for in coats are length and hoods. Well, no hood on this one, but it is a nice length. As I pull it out from the other clothes, I can feel that it is made of wool. Not ideal with all the rain we’ve been getting. Hhmm, but it is very well made, and no label is readily visible. Vintage?! Well, perhaps not true vintage, but maybe an 80’s version of vintage? I’m not usually a fan of 80’s clothing, but… I can at least try it on. No mirrors anywhere. I cross the store for the fitting rooms.

DSC_0119

As I start to slip it on, my heart begins to warm to it as I realize it is tailored. I begin to worry that it may not be the right size. But it is! The bodice fits well, and the lower half looks like an A-line skirt, coming all the way down to my black knee-high boots. Now I am glad I went into the fitting room because I have a big grin on my face and have to keep turning around to see it from different angles. When I finally find the label, I don’t recognize the designer, but it’s made in London. Before taking it off, I slip my hands into the pockets. Wait. I pull out my hands. In one are two bobby pins and an old penny. In the other is a tube of red lipstick.

DSC_0173

DSC_0167

I imagine a classy woman (apparently exactly my size) stepping out of her apartment in England a few decades ago. I’m sure she had her wallet and keys in a smart black leather handbag, but she kept her essentials right in her pockets. She was ready to take on the world with confidence and poise.

DSC_0180

DSC_0089

When I get home, I have to repair a bit of the lining and clean a few spots, but it’s ready again. Ready to take on the world with class and femininity.

DSC_0202 (2)

 

Pictures by Bri Barnwell

Coat by Gerald McCann

Jewelry and Scarf from my great-grandmother and grandmother

2 thoughts on “Not Exactly Love at First Sight

  1. Beautiful! =)

  2. You are brightening up the world with your life stories.

Leave a comment