Checking Off the Bucket List (and a lot of other lists)

I am definitely a list maker. I am the kind of person who puts even mundane things on a list so that I can have more things crossed off at the end of the day. I also admit to occasionally adding something to a list after I have already done it because it is so satisfying to cross it off. Yes, I am Type A.

I have a few lists going right now; a list for fun things I still want to do here, a list of people I want to spend time with, a list of things I have to do in preparation for moving home, a list for things I need to give away, etc. This week, I have made some progress on all the lists. My organizational side is happy and so is my extroverted side as I got in good time with dear friends. Here are some of the things I have gotten to enjoy recently.

About two weeks ago, one of my friends wanted to hang out. Since we work in the same area, we met after work and walked a couple blocks in the blistering heat to the food truck park for lunch… or dinner (it’s kind of complicated). I’d wanted to eat there for a while, but hadn’t had the opportunity. I got some great Indian food and we had a good talk. He was in a difficult situation and we were able to talk about it, pray about it, and encourage each other.

Last week, the English speaking ladies from Lincoln got together and went up to Bugambilias, a posh neighborhood up on a hill at the edge of the city. There is a large plaza at the very top with a great view of the city. We went to one of the cafes with a balcony and talked about everyone’s plans for the summer, things we still want to do during our time here, etc. We not only got to watch the sunset, but also a storm pass over the city. It was a little chilly, but beautiful.

2016-06-14 20.33.502016-06-14 20.45.37

Today, I cleaned up some things left by a certain lovely, artistic roommate who left some lovely, artistic clutter. I actually found a really cool way to recycle some of the things she left for my despedida (good-bye party)…more on that later. The book/craft shelf is much better organized now and I’m happy to be able to leave some great craft/art supplies for the future tenants of our unique and beautiful house.

I have one of my two suitcases packed and have been cleaning out all of my drawers and closets. Oh, I also have a list of what I want to do as soon as I get back to the States. I can tell you that I am craving some outdoor adventure with family and friends. Looking forward to being home!

Photos of the city belong to April Reyes. Other photos are mine.

One thought on “Checking Off the Bucket List (and a lot of other lists)

  1. As always, we enjoyed reading your thoughts. =D

Leave a Reply

