A Change in Schedule

Many people have asked me how I feel about being in Guadalajara another year. Honestly, if feels right. Yes, I miss things at home, but I am so thankful for the opportunity to put more effort into improving my teaching and the opportunity to invest in my relationships here for a while longer. However, I knew that there were going to be some things I would need to change right away. Last year, I had a lot of stuff going on, including tutoring every day after school. This year, I am setting boundaries and only tutoring on Mondays and Wednesdays. I think it will be beneficial for the students to have tutoring in a group and also for me so that I have time after school on the other days to prepare for classes before resources and the printing room close.  See my other blog post. =)

Last year, I tried to have my personal time reading the Bible and praying in the morning before school. It just did not work for me. I like having that time in the morning…at about 9, not 6:30. Then, I would come home from school exhausted and get online. Now I am coming home from school and just resting in my upstairs room and spending time with God before I even turn on the computer. It has been so refreshing. So thankful we are not bound to a certain time or way of worshipping God. I am also thankful that rest is a good and biblical activity.

One thought on “A Change in Schedule

  1. Gerry Christensen

    I, too, am thankful we are not bound to a certain time or way to worship the Lord. For years, I felt awful about not spending quality time in the mornings with Him. My mind always raced, and I couldn’t stop thinking about my day ahead. I always heard first thing in the morning is the time we were SUPPOSED to spend with Him. It took me years to figure out what you recently learned. Now, every night, the last couple of hours before I go to bed are set aside for just the Lord and me together. I look forward to that time all day long 🙂

Leave a Reply

