Having Breakfast at 3:30PM

Yesterday I decided to follow up on a conversation I had with a neighbor the other week. She had initially stopped me to ask if I knew anyone who was looking for a room to rent, but then went on to say she lived alone and if I ever wanted to come over for a cup of coffee I was welcome. I felt a little awkward going over without being able to contact her first to see if it was a good time, but I really felt like I should try. We have just had two weeks of rainy and dreary weather so I did not really have an opportunity before now. I walked just out of my courtyard and rang her doorbell and she was actually home. She said she had to run some errands, but invited me to just hop in the car with her and when we got back we would have coffee since she had not had breakfast yet. This was at 1PM, about an hour after I had eaten lunch.

Our errands included trying to drop off some information at our community’s office because she is very against having more schools in the neighborhood and is trying to prevent more from moving in. This felt a little awkward since Lincoln is obviously in our neighborhood (though it has been there a really long time and she is friends with some of the administration so I do not think she is specifically against Lincoln). Next, she had to give something to the cleaning lady who was working at a rental house she had just a little bit outside of Las Fuentes. The renters, three Indian men, were making food when we arrived so I had a funny conversation with them while waiting for her to finish talking to the cleaning lady. I was invited to come back and have Indian food sometime, which I am actually really tempted to do. We then went to a couple little stores and finally back to her house.

I thought she would just put on water for tea or coffee. Nope. She made this really good soup, put together an amazing salad with spinach, mango, pomegranate, apple, and balsamic vinaigrette. She toasted rye French bread and put out some really tasty spreads for it and squeezed some fresh limeade. All the time she was cooking, we got to talk. Well, she did most of the talking, but that was okay. =) We finally sat down to eat at 3:30pm, for her breakfast. It was so nice to be able to talk with her and also to enjoy her food. I know that she really enjoyed it too because she said she really like cooking and that is always better when there is a guest to enjoy it (or comensal, which means a person who is eating with others). She told me about an old song that translates to something like, “In my house, there is a church, which is called the dinner table.” I liked that idea that meal time, either with family or with guests, is somewhat sacred. It reminded me of the teaching in the Bible on the Lord’s Supper and how that is a sacrament, but can happen in the context of a meal because we all are to remember Him together and enjoy each other’s fellowship and communion as we commune with God.

So I enjoyed my adventure and am excited to see what taking advantage of this opportunity will lead to.

Photo is my own of part of the view from our second story patio.

Leave a Reply

