When Life Gives You Boredom, God Gives You Purpose

This afternoon, I sat down to write a blog post about the online course I just finished up. I quickly got distracted by the Fred Astaire music I was listening to (You’re Easy to Dance With), which led to looking up Fred Astaire movies on the internet, which led to looking up other stuff on the internet, which led to generally wasting time and unhealthy thinking habits. I finally snapped out of it and refused to click on “just one more” link. I was not sure what to do next so I took a walk to get out of the house. When I got back and started making dinner, I realized what I should be writing a blog post about.

I tend to work really hard and stay busy. Sometimes I can lose balance and take on an unhealthy amount of stress. But I have learned that, generally, it really is good for me to be busy. I get bored quite easily and then I feel bad about myself for wasting time on worthless junk on the internet or for letting my thoughts turn to self-pity, jealousy, or covetousness. That is actually why I took the online course in the first place. It is also one of the biggest reasons why I am going to start getting tutoring in Spanish and why I am taking on more English tutoring students. On my walk, I resolved not to go back to the boredom tonight, but I did not know exactly what I was going to do to fill the evening. My landlady came into the kitchen to talk to me. She was very sweet as usual, making sure I knew I could use anything in the house that I wanted. She even offered to lend me her car. I have been afraid to drive here, but have been thinking about it more recently, realizing how helpful it could be. Please pray that I would make a good decision there. It might be a really good thing for me to drive because it would probably open up more opportunities to interact with my church, and I could actually be a real help to my landlady, who still cannot drive because of her broken arm. On the other hand, I am a cautious driver, even by U.S. standards, so I am not sure if I could really survive out there. While we were talking, I had the opportunity to ask her to the Bible study I go to on Friday nights. It is hosted by missionaries and is really open to both Christians and people who are curious about Christianity. I think it would be a great place for her to get to know some Mexican believers whom she can probably identify with better than she can with me. She could also ask all of her questions to Spanish speakers. She sounded interested, though sometimes it is a cultural thing not to refuse an invitation outright, so pray that she actually comes!

I also was reminded of the opportunity I had during tutoring earlier today. I was meeting with a student whom I usually Skype with, but was able to talk to in person this morning because he was back in Guadalajara for the weekend. It started with me mentioning that church is the place where I practice Spanish the most, and led to a discussion about church. He observed that I was very committed to and involved in my church, whereas he sees church as more of a way to teach his children good morals. I was able to explain that I was “so committed” because I really believe the Bible and our actions show what we believe. I clarified that the Bible was really my standard for living. He said they had gone to a catholic church in Guadalajara (one with “positive” teaching) and that he wanted to find another church in Monterrey (again for his children). Please pray that this conversation will have stirred him and he will read the Bible for himself. Also pray that he would find a church that teaches the truth (positive and negative) and that this would change his whole family, not just make his children “better people”.

I am excited for what God has in store for me here. I do not always take all the opportunities that I should have, but I am so excited to see people slowly opening up as I patiently wait for the Spirit’s awakening in their hearts.

Photo is my own, of the glorieta (round-about) in our neighborhood.

One thought on “When Life Gives You Boredom, God Gives You Purpose

  1. […] When Life Gives You Boredom-March 2015 […]

Leave a Reply

